Crawfish Cookies

7 May

So I found a really cute idea for cookies here: http://www.livinglocurto.com/2013/04/crawfish-cakes/#sthash.0YkUMMLg.35gKtYP2.dpbs

And decided to blog my recreation.  My son’s mascot is the mudbug, which, if you didn’t already know, is a crawfish, and basically a staple of living in Louisiana.  So for teacher appreciation, I whipped up some of these puppies to leave in the teacher’s lounge.

 

IMG_0061[1]

 

My store does not carry lady fingers, so this is the closest I could find:

 

IMG_0050[1]

IMG_0051[1]

I found the other ingredients, though:

Twizzlers

Candy eyes (found at Wal-Mart)

Canned Icing

IMG_0052[1]

 

Open the finger cookie.

IMG_0053[1]

Dot red icing as shown

IMG_0054[1]

Cut a Twizzler into 4 even pieces

IMG_0056[1]

Cut the end of the Twizzler into claws, and stick onto the dotted icing

IMG_0057[1]

Squiggle some of the icing onto the cookie

IMG_0058

And replace the top of the cookie

IMG_0059

Squiggle Icing onto the top of the cookie, add candy eyes, and Voila!!!  Crawdaddy cakes!

IMG_0060Things I noticed:

The red Icing stains your fingers, but I think that’s unavoidable

Try to earnestly find lady fingers, because I don’t think that the “Vienna fingers” worked as well as the lady fingers would have

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Crawfish Cookies”

  1. Laurie Nguyen May 7, 2014 at 2:28 pm #

    What fun cookies! I must make these for my sons. They will love them!

    • townsendlyssa May 7, 2014 at 5:14 pm #

      Thanks Laurie! They are super easy, too! No baking, ha!

Leave a Reply

